Track and Field


State Championships: 1971-74, 1991, 1993-1994, 1999, 2001, 2003, 2005-2007, 2011 and 2012.

The Salesianum spring track program was founded in the year 1927 with partial records up to 1935.

From 1960 to 1966, the track team won five out of the six independent league championships. Since 1969, the team has won 15 state championships. They have also finished second six times since 1969. 

Head Coach Ralph Heiss, who led the team for 23 years, stepped down in 2007, with an overall record of 118-47-2. Since then, the team has been coached by Joe Gioffre '99. Coach Gioffre is assisted by Jon Mazzio '09 and Katie Deinert. Famous alumi include Vic Zwolak, who ran in the 1964 Olympics. Zwolak honors include induction into the Delaware Sports Hall of Fame (1976), Delaware’s Athlete of the Year (1964), Delaware's Co-Athlete of the Year (1963) and NCAA Cross Country Champion (1963 and 1964).