Social Studies


page.pagewithimage.featured_image_description

The social studies department teaches students respect and pride in themselves and their history, to value and respect others’ points of view, to appreciate significant achievement in all humanities fields, and to appreciate the diversity and commonality of the world's peoples.

Finally, we hope to instill in our students the desire to participate in our government, the Catholic Church or their particular faith community, and the world community, in order to make the world a better place for all people.

The social studies curriculum offers a diverse selection of courses ranging from survey courses in world and US history and government to a variety of social studies electives including foreign policy, psychology, world affairs, introduction to law and economics. Seven AP courses are offered in economics, European history, American government, world history, United States history, and psychology. 

All of these courses stress the basic skills of a historian, including critical reading of primary and secondary sources (e.g.: documents, maps, graphs, etc.), creating and defending a historical argument, expressing an argument in a variety of media, differentiating between fact and opinion, and research skills. Along with the basic facts and information discussed in each course, our students master useful writing, reading, and discussion skills. We stress the importance of geography and require research through presentations and mock trials where applicable.

The social studies department is also in charge of the school's archives. Click here to visit the online archives and see a sample of what it contains.

Faculty

Mr. Robert McConaghy - Department Chair
rmcconaghy@salesianum.org / ext. 268

Mr. Patrick Dever '91 
pdever@salesianum.org / ext. 260

Mr. William DiNardo
wdinardo@salesianum.org / ext. 130

Ms. Julia Endrizzi
jendrizzi@salesianum.org

Mr. Joseph Gioffre ‘99 
jgioffre@salesianum.org / ext. 209

Ms. Maribeth Jaeske
mjaeske@salesianum.org

Mr. Colbe Klein '04 
cklein@salesianum.org / ext 275

Mrs. Maria Lantz
mlantz@salesianum.org / ext. 284

Mr. William Sutherland
wsutherland@salesianum.org / ext. 267

Mr. Sean Tischler 
stischler@salesianum.org / ext. 233

Mr. Taylor Trevisan / ext.
ttrevisan@salesianum.org