Mathematics


page.pagewithimage.featured_image_description

The mathematics department at Salesianum helps students to develop critical thinking skills and problem-solving skills that will serve them well in the classroom and beyond.

A comprehensive range of courses are offered, from Algebra I through Calculus BC, so that each student is engaged and challenged to his maximum potential, from those who struggle with math to budding mathematicians 

Students are immersed in the problem solving process through lectures, classroom discussions, collaborative work, and independent study. They are taught to reason logically and to pay attention to detail. They learn to use and interpret mathematics graphically, numerically, and algebraically in the context of developing the skill sets required for everything from practical problem solving to developing formal mathematic proofs. 

The curricular focus is on mathematics as an integrated whole as opposed to a subject of isolated ideas. In each course, teachers emphasize the mathematical process in addition to the end result. Hands-on activities model real world problems, answering the age-old question, “But when will I ever use this in real life?” The mathematics curriculum challenges students:

  • to think and reason mathematically
  • to recognize and generalize patterns
  • to focus on problem analysis and synthesis
  • to write and communicate using proper math terms

Technology plays an integral role as a catalyst in the learning process. iBooks bring the curriculum alive with interactive tutorials, examples and videos. iPad graphing and calculating apps animate and render complex mathematical concepts. Software such as TI-Interactive and Geometer’s Sketchpad help students explore the reasoning behind many abstract concepts in algebra, geometry, calculus, and statistics.

Technology plays an integral role as a catalyst in the learning process. iBooks bring the curriculum alive with interactive tutorials, examples and videos

To learn more about what courses the Salesianum Mathematics Department offers, please view the chart listed in the Program of Studies that illustrates the typical progression of a math student at Salesianum.

Faculty

Mr. Daniel Kegelman '85 - Department Chair
dkegelman@salesianum.org / ext. 234

Mrs. Katie Godfrey 
kgodfrey@salesianum.org / ext. 201

Ms. Margie Hahn
mhahn@salesianum.org

Mr. Brendan Haley '82  
bhaley@salesianum.org / ext. 236

Mrs. Jennifer Harden
jharden@salesianum.org

Kieran McCloskey
kmccloskey@salesianum.org

Mr. Zachary Robie   
zrobie@salesianum.org / ext. 285

Mrs. Karen Schuster
kschuster@salesianum.org / ext. 252

Ms. Kate Skipski
kskipski@salesianum.org